‘Diplomatic Immunity’: An Entertaining Read for Fans of ‘Veronica Mars’ or Ally Carter

November 7, 2016 6 Comments

‘Diplomatic Immunity’: An Entertaining Read for Fans of ‘Veronica Mars’ or Ally Carter. Review of the 2016 Brodi Ashton novel. Text © Rissi JC

STORY: Piper Baird has a dream. Her aspirations reach beyond her public high school which is why she pushes for a scholarship to an elite prep school. Once she’s in, she can compete for the prestigious Bennington award; an award that will open doors to college scholarships, and the best education possible. A budding journalist, Piper begins to work on a “exposé” story about her fellow classmates (most of whom are among the school’s wealthiest) who break rules just because they can. But everything changes when she begins to make friends with some of her classmates. And then there’s Raf, the cute boy who seems to take a keen interest in the new girl.

Diplomatic Immunity, by Brodi Ashton | Book Review

Prior to this, Ashton’s latest, I’d never read any of her novels. Her popular Everneath trilogy is now at the top of my perpetual TBR. Before getting to my likes vs. dislikes, I’ll cut to the chase: I really, really liked this novel. The story, the characters and the setting spelled fun in glaring capital letters. The further I went into the story, the faster I flipped pages and the more interested I became in everyone’s lives.

BOOK REVIEW | ‘All Fall Down’ by Ally Carter
‘Diplomatic Immunity’: An Entertaining Read for Fans of ‘Veronica Mars’ or Ally Carter #FWarchives #YALit Click To Tweet

If there was one thing that stunted my interest early on, it was the character of Raf. Don’t misunderstand, just like everyone else, I’m all for the cute, mysterious boy, but I couldn’t warm to Raf in the beginning. The more page time he shared with Piper, the more I wondered why she liked him. Once I learned more about what made him tick and who he was as a person, those early insecurities were erased. The ways he cared for Piper and eventually, began showing her that, were YA (contemporary) genre magic. There’s an especially sweet scene between them and Piper’s younger brother.

Some won’t appreciate Piper’s quest for the story or her attitude of what it takes to achieve this. In the end, I felt like she made the right decision though as all stories will, this one naturally snaps the fragile thread that Piper’s protective decision is based on. This spins everything out of control, but the end is, as we expect, swoony and charming. The gang of characters are colorful and fun to hang out with not to mention the layers that are eventually peeled back on those who start out unlikable.

In the end, this was the perfect read for me. It’s a quick contemporary with an almost Veronica Mars-esque vibe. Not in the way of the humor, more that it reminded me of the cult classic with Piper’s “sleuthing.” If you like Ally Carter or any lighthearted contemporary with some mystery tied into it, check out Diplomatic Immunity. It’s a fun read perfect to enjoy while curled up in your favorite reading nook.

A B O U T the B O O K:

Author: Brodi Ashton
Publisher: Balzar + Bray
Source: Publisher ARC
Publication Date: 2016
Find the Review elsewhere: Amazon ǀ Goodreads
Shop the Book: Amazon ǀ Bookshop.org ǀ Goodreads
Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Young Adult
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of Diplomatic Immunity; my apologies to the author and publisher for the delay in publishing this review.

Review text is © Copyright 2011-2016 Rissi JC and first appeared on Finding Wonderland (Dreaming Under the Same Moon), RissiWrites.com 

About Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

All posts

6 Comments

  • Tressa S November 9, 2016 at 3:55 PM

    I've been meaning to read this for quite some time (I have the eARC so I have no excuse) as I liked her Everneath series (although I still need to read the last book). I've seen mixed reviews but I think I'd like it so I just need to fit it in. December is going to be my catch-up to books from this year I've missed.

    • Rissi November 12, 2016 at 12:21 AM

      Ugh. I *know* this feeling all too well, Tressa (books waiting for my attention). It's one of those #BookNerdProblems hashtags, right!? ;)

      I really enjoyed this one. I've seen the mixed reviews too, and understand what readers are saying (I had trouble warming to Raf), but overall, I enjoyed this for what it is: fun YA fiction. :) Happy reading!

  • Bekah M. November 12, 2016 at 12:15 AM

    Veronica Mars-esque vibe?! Yes, yes, and YES! I've been wanting to read this one, but it didn't feel right to buy or borrow from the library with so. many. books. waiting to be read on my nightstand. ;) Will get to it eventually! Thanks for the fantastic review…this really sounds like a book I'd enjoy.

    • Rissi November 12, 2016 at 12:33 AM

      This feeling is another #BookNerdProblems hashtag, Bekah. SO famliar with this nightstand issue. ;)

      *bites nails* I do hope you enjoy this one, Bekah. It's super fun or I thought so!

  • Kara December 9, 2016 at 8:57 PM

    I haven't heard of this one, but you've definitely intrigued me! *adds to TBR*

    • Rissi December 13, 2016 at 6:25 AM

      It's lots of fun, Kara! :) Let me know if you read it what ya' think.

    Leave a Reply

    (Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

    Bonjour and Welcome!

    Welcome | thank you for visiting and reading. if you like, you are invited to join our conversations and follow along – join us.  You’re most welcome.
    Read more about Finding Wonderland

    ps: please excuse the “disorder.” you can read more about Finding Wonderland’s changes, new follow options and why archive posts are a mess in my “Disorder + Feedback” post!

    Finding Wonderland Elsewhere!

    Finding Wonderland in your Inbox!

    Subscribe! Have Finding Wonderland's new content sent to your inbox; sign up for our once (or twice) monthly round up of new content. If you'd like to have this newsletter sent to your inbox, you can enter your email address here. Please note, this does require a sign-up confirmation via email, and that email may be sent to a junk or spam folder.

    RSS Feed

    Enter your email address:

    Shop our Etsy Store

    Archives

    Disclosures

    Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that if you click on a product link, I may receive (a small) compensation. This compensation comes at no additional cost to you.

    Rissi JC (RissiWrites.com) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

    All written content (unless noted) is © Copyright Rissi JC and Finding Wonderland (RissiWrites.com).

    Categories

    ×
    %d bloggers like this: