‘NOWHERE TO TURN,’ BY LYNETTE EASON

September 8, 2014 10 Comments

‘NOWHERE TO TURN,’ BY LYNETTE EASON. Review of book two in the Hidden Identity series. All text © Rissi JC

In the suspense genre, there have been far too many stories to possibly pick out a favorite. Since more than one of these books often finds a place on the bookshelf, my opinion on a favorite suspense author wavers each time I read a new book from one of the five or so authors whose novels fall into this category and I regularly read. Lynette Eason’s follow up to her on-going series has again throws favorite rankings into turmoil.

BOOK REVIEW | ‘WELCOME TO LAST CHANCE,’ BY CATHLEEN ARMSTRONG
‘NOWHERE TO TURN,’ BY LYNETTE EASON #FWarchives #BookReviews Click To Tweet

STORY: Dani Harding is a woman with an 11-year-old son and a husband, who is anything but loving. Instead he’s an abuser with a badge and a man who erases Dani’s cries for help by covering up any claims she makes to law enforcement. Dani finally gathers the courage to leave Kurt, only to learn that same day, Kurt has been killed. Assuming she’s finally safe, she returns in the hopes of rebuilding her life. Trouble again finds her when it becomes apparent someone is still out to do her harm – this leads her to Adam Buchanan, a former law enforcement agent now working with a private security firm… and someone with many secrets of his own.


Nowhere to Turn, by Lynette Eason | Book Review


As is the new standard in Christian fiction, this novel is one of the best if you’re craving a fast-paced mystery. The pace moves faster than most because of the subject matter and seems to take away more of the character interactions because of this. However, the author wisely gives us an epilogue that takes place a lengthy amount of time later. Though the falling-in-love bit happens “off screen,” I’ve no doubt that what happens in the interim is a genuine time of healing for everyone. If you aren’t as keen on the romance angle in suspense, this would be the proper novel to pick up. Dani’s reliance on Adam is more for safety and Adam’s interest in Dani is based on attraction (as well as a sense of justice and making her feel safe again) for the majority of the book. This turns out to be an aspect I respected since too often the romance intermingles with the breath-catching suspense, two opposite genres attempt to co-exist and what usually happens is the romance comes off as improbable.   

Another pleasant element from Lynette’s talent is the easy-going way in which she writes. This book reads easily and in spite of the thrill seeker plots and subjects, the book isn’t hard to enjoy because of the writing style – and of course, it helps that the pages fly by because the reader has a kind of compulsion to see the characters through to the end, mainly to escape the baddies and find a safety long overdue. Fans of Dani Pettrey or Irene Hannon won’t want to miss these books. I’m not sure if this is my favorite of her books (of what I’ve read), however this new series is certainly shaping up to be one of the most exciting!

About the Book:

(Disclosure: this post does contain affiliate links; if you buy anything through these links, I may receive a small percentage of the sale at no extra cost to you. Read the disclosure page for details. If you have purchased anything through our links, thank you. We’re grateful.)

Author: Lynette Eason
Publisher: Revell
Source: Publisher Provided
Publication Date: 2014
Find the Review elsewhere: Amazon | Goodreads | Novel Crossing | WordPress
Find the Book Elsewhere: Bookshop.org | Goodreads
Series: Hidden Identity, book 2
Genre: Fiction; Mystery/Suspense
Rating: 4 out of 5

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of this book for reviewing purposes.

About Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

All posts

10 Comments

  • Bekah M. September 8, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    Yay! I just finished this book last week and really liked it as well. It was *very* exciting and fast-paced… my favorite. Loved this review, Rissi! I always love reading your writing, you have such a way with words. :)

    • Rissi September 8, 2014 at 11:33 pm

      I'm so happy you liked this one, Bekah! I really did too – it's a highly entertaining read. Still think Dani's are my favorite, but I always enjoy Lynette's, plus her style is super "easy," something that makes reading her books always a delight.

      Are you going to be reading Irene Hannon's new book? So far, I've loved her latest series.

      As always, thank *you* for commenting and reading! I appreciate it. :)

    • Bekah M. September 9, 2014 at 1:53 am

      It definitely was entertaining. I actually got so into it I think I yelled out loud at one point… lol. Yes, I received "Deceived" in the mail just today! But I had no idea that it was the third book in a series when I signed up. *face palm* I always do that. Oh, well. I'm just hoping that I don't have to read the previous books to understand this one?

    • Rissi September 9, 2014 at 2:51 am

      Yay – lucky you! I'm hoping my copy arrives soon. :)

      I would say you're safe to read this series without having read the prior two. Of course the characters from the first two books will likely appear, but in terms of understanding Deceived, you will be fine. Happy reading! :)

  • Jillian September 8, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    I can't wait to read this one! You know I love suspense novels, so this sounds great. Plus, I read Lynette Eason's last one so I should read this one as well. As always, thanks for the great review, Rissi! :)

    • Rissi September 8, 2014 at 11:34 pm

      Thank YOU For reading, Jillian.

      I hope you enjoy this one – it's GREAT suspense and definitely one of my favorite in its genre of the year. Happy reading. :)

  • Rachel September 8, 2014 at 10:17 pm

    I love her books! I love this genre too and other others who write similar books – Dee Henderson, Terri Blackstock, Irene Hannon, DiAnn Mills, Dani Pettrey, Lis Wiehl and others. It's always to find out about new books and series coming out. This book is on my to-read list on Goodreads – hopefully the library will get it soon. :)

    • Rissi September 8, 2014 at 11:37 pm

      Yay! In that case, I'm sure you'll thoroughly enjoy this novel, Rachel. It's great.

      Wonderful authors you list as favorites; I always enjoy Dani's books. She has the perfect "style" for my reading preferences. :)

  • Tressa S September 9, 2014 at 9:24 pm

    I definitely agree that the new trend for this genre is intense and fast and a little scary. Those books I read for the Inspy's and some others I read recently were really, really intense and I thought they all could compete in the general suspense market with the best of them. Great review!

    • Rissi September 9, 2014 at 11:05 pm

      I don't think Lynette's are nearly as intense as say, Steven James because I find her writing very "easy" to read. I'm not constantly tipped up by technical details or such, which makes reading her novels much more pleasant. :)

    Leave a Reply

    (Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

    Bonjour and Welcome!

    Welcome | thank you for visiting and reading. if you like, you are invited to join our conversations and follow along – join us.  You’re most welcome.
    Read more about Finding Wonderland

    ps: please excuse the “disorder.” you can read more about Finding Wonderland’s changes, new follow options and why archive posts are a mess in my “Disorder + Feedback” post!

    Finding Wonderland Elsewhere!

    Finding Wonderland in your Inbox!

    Subscribe! Have Finding Wonderland's new content sent to your inbox; sign up for our once (or twice) monthly round up of new content. If you'd like to have this newsletter sent to your inbox, you can enter your email address here. Please note, this does require a sign-up confirmation via email, and that email may be sent to a junk or spam folder.

    RSS Feed

    Enter your email address:

    Shop our Etsy Store

    Archives

    Disclosures

    Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that if you click on a product link, I may receive (a small) compensation. This compensation comes at no additional cost to you.

    Rissi JC (RissiWrites.com) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

    All written content (unless noted) is © Copyright Rissi JC and Finding Wonderland (RissiWrites.com).

    Categories

    ×
    %d bloggers like this: