‘COLD SHOT’: ELITE TEAM OF LAW ENFORECEMNET SOLVE MYSTERIES

February 26, 2016 12 Comments
‘COLD SHOT’: ELITE TEAM OF LAW ENFORECEMNET SOLVE MYSTERIES. Review of the 2016 romantic suspense novel. All text © Rissi JC

It’s been five years since I read Dani Pettrey’s debut novel, Submerged. Since then, she has written an additional four novels that connect to that debut Last year marked the conclusion to that series and 2016 the beginning of something new. Her new series gets things running with Cold Shot, a mystery novel that again introduces us to a slew of memorable (to say nothing of handsome and heroic) characters.  

BOOK REVIEW | ‘Blind Spot’ – Suspenseful Stories and Threats Return to Chesapeake Valor

STORY: One moment of hesitation ruins his life, former SWAT sniper, Griffin McCray works as a Gettysburg park ranger. During one of his nightly rounds, Griff discovers a disturbed grave is home to a body that is anything but a historic skeletal artifact. This brings forensic anthropologist Finley Scott to the scene along with crime scene analyst Parker Mitchell, a face from Griff’s past. When the third member from Griff’s gang and college days, FBI agent Declan Gray, also gets the case call, Griff finds his past may have something to teach him, and his present is in danger of repeating that past.

“…the instant he thought he’d lost her, he realized how deeply he cared…” – Cold Shot

‘COLD SHOT’: ELITE TEAM OF LAW ENFORECEMNET SOLVE MYSTERIES #FWarchives #BookReviews Click To Tweet

REVIEW: As usual, it takes no more than a chapter to become hooked on one of Dani’s stories. Cold Shot is yet again a brilliant and entertaining piece of fiction full of fast-paced twists that keep a curious reader rapidly turning the pages. The differences in this new series launcher (in comparison to Dani’s Alaskan series) are vast, and yet the structure and integrity of the genre is similar.

Describing this story quite escapes me. Keeping things simple, I will say the story is inventive in new ways. Though there is safety in the familiar, I like a balance of comfort and out-of-the-box thinking, and I think Dani achieves this in Cold Shot. This is an exhilarating, exciting, first class mystery. Between the primary whodunit theme and the memorable characters, everything is good. By the way, these characters all have epic names, too (seriously, I love the unique knack Pettrey has for naming her characters a tactic that keeps them present in the readers). This hot-off-the-press novel is not to be missed. (Trust me.)

Fans of Lynette Eason or Dee Henderson will find another kindred spirit inside the pages of Dani Pettrey’s Cold Shot; it’s romantic suspense at its very best.

About the Book:

(This post does contain affiliate links. Read the disclosure page for details.) 

Author: Dani Pettrey
Publisher: Bethany House
Source: Publisher/Author Provided
Publication Date: 2016
Find the Review elsewhere: Amazon ǀ Goodreads
Shop the Book: Amazon ǀ Bookshop.orgGoodreads
Series: Chesapeake Valor, Book 1
Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Romance/Romantic Suspense
Rating: ★★★★★

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of this book; all opinions are my own.

About Rissi JC

amateur graphic designer. confirmed bookaholic. bubbl’r enthusiast. critical thinker. miswesterner. social media coordinator. writer.

Rissi JC

amateur graphic designer. confirmed bookaholic. bubbl’r enthusiast. critical thinker. miswesterner. social media coordinator. writer.

All posts

12 Comments

  • Bekah M. February 29, 2016 at 7:37 PM

    Dani Pettrey is one of my all-time favorite authors, and reading your rave review for her latest makes me want to read it all the more! I missed getting a review copy (ugh) but I'll have to buy it soon whenever I am finally caught up on my current reads. Fantastic review, as always! :D

    • Rissi February 29, 2016 at 8:32 PM

      This one is SO good, Bekah. Hope you can read it soon – and I totally know what you mean about missing a review copy. Sometimes I *have* to tell myself "no, you can't sign up right now." ;)

      Ps; if you're interested, there is a giveaway for a paperback of this one running on the blog. :)

  • tickmenot February 29, 2016 at 10:09 PM

    How do I enter this giveaway?

    • Rissi March 1, 2016 at 1:03 AM

      Hi! If you'd like to enter Dani Pettrey's sweepstakes, you just click on the banner advertising it above. It will redirect you to Dani's website and the information on how you enter. If you're wondering how to enter Finding Wonderland's book giveaway, you can find the Rafflecopter form and all the information on the giveaway post. Hope that was helpful. :)

  • Tressa S March 6, 2016 at 10:15 PM

    I was actually going to pass this one up because I'm trying to limit my eARCs more, but then I read the excerpt and saw all the good reviews and reneged on that. Lol! It sounds like I'm really going to love it. Now I just need to read it. :)

    • Rissi March 10, 2016 at 8:16 PM

      Uh-oh! Broke your eARC rule, huh!? I know the struggle. Let me tell ya', it's REAL! ;) I think you will like Cold Shot, Tressa. Especially if you liked Dani's last series or authors like Lynette Eason.

  • Amanda Dykes March 12, 2016 at 5:21 PM

    Rissi,
    Wow, what a post! Thank you for sharing about COLD SHOT, the sweepstakes, and your insightful reflections on the book. I LOVED how you put it: an exhilirating, exciting, and first-class mystery. Thanks again for all that you do in support of great story, Rissi! ~Amanda

    • Rissi March 12, 2016 at 8:36 PM

      My pleasure, Amanda. It's always fun to put anything together related to Dani's novels. Hopefully, next time I'll participate more fully in the sweepstakes – apologies for all the confusion this year. :)

      Thanks so much for stopping by. Always great to chat with you. :)

  • Camie Fisher April 25, 2017 at 5:35 PM

    I love this review! Dani Pettrey is one of my favorite authors.

    • Rissi April 26, 2017 at 5:23 PM

      Thanks, Camie – and me too! Dani's books are always brilliant. Looking forward to many more from her. :)

  • […] a twisted plot that’s goes beyond what they imagined they’d find. BOOK REVIEW | Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey – Elite Team of Law Enforcement Solve Mysteries  Every book Pettrey writes is further proof of her skill as an author. First she intrigued […]

  • […] one of the best contemporary novels I’ve had the pleasure of reading. Amazon | Goodreads 12. Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey | The start of a new series, Pettrey’s first book is, perhaps, her best yet. […]

  • Leave a Reply

    (Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

    Bonjour and Welcome!

    Welcome | thank you for visiting and reading. if you like, you are invited to join our conversations and follow along – join us.  You’re most welcome.
    Read more about Finding Wonderland

    Finding Wonderland Elsewhere!

    Finding Wonderland in your Inbox!

    Subscribe! Have Finding Wonderland's new content sent to your inbox; sign up for our once (or twice) monthly round up of new content. If you'd like to have this newsletter sent to your inbox, you can enter your email address here. Please note, this does require a sign-up confirmation via email, and that email may be sent to a junk or spam folder.

    RSS Feed

    Enter your email address:

    Archives

    Disclosures

    Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that if you click on a product link, I may receive (a small) compensation. This compensation comes at no additional cost to you.

    Rissi JC (RissiWrites.com) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

    All written content (unless noted) is © Copyright Rissi JC and Finding Wonderland (RissiWrites.com).

    Categories

    ×
    %d bloggers like this: