‘DRESSED FOR DEATH’: IDEAL FOR FANS OF ITV’S MARPLE OR GRANTCHESTER

May 21, 2016 5 Comments

When Julianna Deering released Murder at the Mikado, I was certain we’d see the last of proper English gentleman Drew Farthering. Sad as this is, I was fine with this because the story ends in a wonderful kind of way. Much happiness is mine when the author made the not one additional novel, but two more, announcement.

BOOK REVIEW | ‘JO & LAURIE’: THE MAGIC OF AN ALTERNATE LITTLE WOMEN ROMANCE
‘DRESSED FOR DEATH’: IDEAL FOR FANS OF ITV’S MARPLE OR GRANTCHESTER #FWarchives #HistoricalFiction Click To Tweet
‘DRESSED FOR DEATH’: IDEAL FOR FANS OF ITV’S MARPLE OR GRANTCHESTER. Drew Farthering and Co return for more fun! © Rissi JC

STORY: Married life is treating Drew Farthering and his American bride, Madeline, well. For their sixth-month anniversary, Madeline ropes Drew into attending a regency house party hosted by the parents of Drew’s school chum. Needless to say, the idea of dressing in frills and 100-year-old costumes doesn’t appeal to Drew, but for Madeline he’ll do anything. With his best friend, Nick at his side, Drew’s knack for mystery again flairs up when the fiancée of his friend, Talbot Cummins, dies under mysterious circumstances.

Was it an accident or murder?

Further complicating things is the arrest of Tal’s father, Mr. Cummins, a man Drew once respected now accused of dabbling in the drug trade, which leads Drew into a mystery that tangles deeper than he’d ever imagined.


Dressed for Death, by Julianna Deering | Book Review


As always, revisiting the world of the dashing Drew Farthering is a rare delight. It’s not secret that Drew is one of my fictional crushes, and I have no intention to conceal this anytime soon. (I don’t mind saying the #WeHeartDrew hashtag should be a trending thing.) Set in the 1930s England, these novels are about as period authentic as I’d ever be able to imagine this era being. From the crisp, elegant language (including Drew calling Madeline “darling” *insert all the heart eye emojis*) to the settings, and afternoon tea, everything is spot-on lovely. 

If you enjoy visits to yesteryear, no one does historical escapism quite like Julianna Deering. If you worry that a fourth book may get caught in a rut (because of the same setting/characters), never fear. Everything is new because of the Regency trip into playacting. Plus, there are lots of Jane Austen references, which is always a bonus, right? In short, this novel is a delight from beginning to end. It does take its time in setting up the mystery (meaning there’s a lot of purposeful and conversational sleuthing for clues rather than “action”), but it’s never a boring journey.

If you like Marple, Grantchester or any cozy British mystery series, this one is dripping with snazzy British charm. From the accents (which you can totally “hear” because this is that good) to the perfect art deco cover design, you’re sure to enjoy Drew’s latest adventure. It’s one no reader will want to miss!  

About the Book:

(Disclosure: this post does contain affiliate links; if you buy anything through these links, I may receive a small percentage of the sale at no extra cost to you. Thank you to anyone who makes a purchase through these links. Read the disclosure page for details.)

Author: Julianna Deering
Publisher: Bethany House
Source: Publisher Provided
Publication Date: 2016
Find the Review elsewhere: Amazon ǀ Goodreads
Shop the Book: Bookshop.org ǀ Goodreads
Series: A Drew Farthering Mystery, book 4
Genre: Fiction; Historical, Mystery
Rating: 5 out of 5 

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of Dressed for Death for reviewing purposes. My apologies to the author, and the publisher (sorry, Amy!) for the delay in publishing this review.

About Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

All posts

5 Comments

  • DeAnna Julie Dodson May 21, 2016 at 4:53 AM

    I'm so glad you liked the book. Isn't Drew fabulous in Regency kit?

    Just FYI, there will be at least two more Drew books, not just one. I'm excited! :D

    Thank you for the wonderful review.

    • Rissi May 24, 2016 at 6:17 PM

      OhMyGosh! How did I not know there'd be TWO more books in this series! Color me excited, DeAnna. :) Thank you for visiting.

  • KayM May 23, 2016 at 8:50 PM

    I'm sure I would enjoy this series, but haven't got started on it yet. I do have the first book, so I need to get started.

    • Rissi May 24, 2016 at 6:18 PM

      Yay! Happy reading, Kay. I do hope you enjoy them. :)

  • […] Dressed for Death by Julianna Deering | How I could forget this lovely novel I don’t know. Amazon | […]

  • Leave a Reply

    (Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

    Bonjour and Welcome!

    Welcome | thank you for visiting and reading. if you like, you are invited to join our conversations and follow along – join us.  You’re most welcome.
    Read more about Finding Wonderland

    ps: please excuse the “disorder.” you can read more about Finding Wonderland’s changes, new follow options and why archive posts are a mess in my “Disorder + Feedback” post!

    Finding Wonderland Elsewhere!

    Finding Wonderland in your Inbox!

    Subscribe! Have Finding Wonderland's new content sent to your inbox; sign up for our once (or twice) monthly round up of new content. If you'd like to have this newsletter sent to your inbox, you can enter your email address here. Please note, this does require a sign-up confirmation via email, and that email may be sent to a junk or spam folder.

    RSS Feed

    Enter your email address:

    Shop our Etsy Store

    Archives

    Disclosures

    Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that if you click on a product link, I may receive (a small) compensation. This compensation comes at no additional cost to you.

    Rissi JC (RissiWrites.com) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

    All written content (unless noted) is © Copyright Rissi JC and Finding Wonderland (RissiWrites.com).

    Categories

    ×
    %d bloggers like this: