‘THE PROMISE OF RAYNE’: Compelling and Complex, a Contemporary Romance

November 4, 2016 8 Comments

‘THE PROMISE OF RAYNE’: Compelling and Complex, a Contemporary Romance

STORY: For Rayne Shelby, accomplishing one career aspiration is her purpose. Her long held dream is to take over the family lodge. Her uncle keeps a tight rein on the family, but in his absence (traveling with her politician father as his campaign manager), Rayne is ready to step out of his shadow. And then she makes one mistake. A mistake that, in the eyes of her uncle, is proof positive she’s unable to “protect” the Shelby family name. 

BOOK REVIEW | ‘MY HOPE NEXT DOOR’: Redemptive Contemporary Romance

Levi is a successful business man with a past of scars He’s also happens to have a soft spot for Rayne, and has ever since their senior year. Only trouble is, Levi is associates with the man Rayne’s family blames for derailing their heritage.

The Promise of Rayne, by Nicole Deese | Book Review

Why I let myself be surprised the sway of a good contemporary novel has, I don’t know. In my mind, I recognize how fond I am of the genre, but as I begin reading a new novel, I underestimate the depth of my respect for the genre. If that makes any sense. The Promise of Rayne is, easily one of the sweetest contemporary novels you’ll read.

Though the outside of this novel isn’t typical to the contemporary romance brand, this is a good thing. The Promise of Rayne breaks out of a box and tells its own story in its own time. The skill with which Nicole weaves this story is wonderful. I lost count of the number of times this transports me into into its world by just the words Nicole put to paper. The story isn’t just a journey, the writing that conveys it is as well. Every nuance is beautiful with purpose.

Love isn’t measured by what we gain. It’s measured by how much we give away.” – Nicole Deese

‘THE PROMISE OF RAYNE’: Compelling and Complex, a Contemporary Romance #FWarchives Click To Tweet

These characters tunnel inside your heart and don’t let go. True their story is one of secrets and heartbreak, but it also finds joy in unexpected places. The story sticks with me. Rayne and Levi’s story is one of the best contemporary romances because it isn’t all about the “wait” or anticipation of them being together. There’s a surprise element to their relationship that I 110% approved of.

If you like contemporary romance, make sure to pick this up. It’s a delight from first page to final word, a final page that ends on a happy note. Fans of authors like Melissa Tagg, Becky Wade, Amy Matayo or Tammy L. Gray will relish this new novel from Deese. It’s a must read for those of us who appreciate the contemporary genre. There’s more than a love story inside these pages, and everything comes together in a promise of redemption. ❤

A B O U T THE B O O K:

(Disclosure: this post does contain affiliate links; if you buy anything through these links, I may receive a small percentage of the sale at no extra cost to you. Thank you to anyone who makes a purchase through these links. Read the disclosure page for details.)

Author: Nicole Deese
Publisher: Waterfall Press (Amazon Imprint)
Source: Relz Author Services
Publication Date: 2016
Find the Review elsewhere: Amazon ǀ Goodreads | WordPress
Shop the Book: Bookshop.org ǀ Goodreads
Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Romance
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher. All opinions in this review are my own. 

About Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

All posts

8 Comments

  • Bekah M. November 5, 2016 at 4:14 PM

    Beautiful review, Rissi – I totally understand what you mean about respecting this genre. I really wanted to read and review this beauty, but couldn't find the time. :( It sounds amazing and I'm a fan of all the authors you mentioned, so I really must read it as soon as I can! :)

    • Rissi November 8, 2016 at 4:51 AM

      This is a feeling I know all too well, Bekah. I had to turn down a book recently too – and I *really* wanted to say yes. *sigh* We do sometimes have to learn our limits, which I think teaches us to be better bloggers too. :)

      YAY! Hope you can read this one soon. It's wonderful.

  • Candice Valdez November 5, 2016 at 8:44 PM

    Can't wait to read this one. Thanks for the review!

    • Rissi November 8, 2016 at 4:52 AM

      My pleasure, Candice; I do hope you enjoy if/when you have the chance to read this one. :)

  • Sanjeet Veen November 7, 2016 at 8:19 PM

    Love cannot be explained, cannot be shown, and it is invisible. Reading books of such kind help to know what true love is while reading automatically drops of water comes from eyes saying you are deeply integrated with the story.

    • Rissi November 8, 2016 at 4:56 AM

      Hope you enjoy this one, Sanjeet.

  • Kara December 9, 2016 at 9:01 PM

    Yes! Such a wonderful story. I am absolutely a fan of Nicole Deese's now! :)

    • Rissi December 13, 2016 at 6:11 AM

      As am I, Kara. Such a lovely author and story. :)

    Leave a Reply

    (Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

    Bonjour and Welcome!

    Welcome | thank you for visiting and reading. if you like, you are invited to join our conversations and follow along – join us.  You’re most welcome.
    Read more about Finding Wonderland

    ps: please excuse the “disorder.” you can read more about Finding Wonderland’s changes, new follow options and why archive posts are a mess in my “Disorder + Feedback” post!

    Finding Wonderland Elsewhere!

    Finding Wonderland in your Inbox!

    Subscribe! Have Finding Wonderland's new content sent to your inbox; sign up for our once (or twice) monthly round up of new content. If you'd like to have this newsletter sent to your inbox, you can enter your email address here. Please note, this does require a sign-up confirmation via email, and that email may be sent to a junk or spam folder.

    RSS Feed

    Enter your email address:

    Shop our Etsy Store

    Archives

    Disclosures

    Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that if you click on a product link, I may receive (a small) compensation. This compensation comes at no additional cost to you.

    Rissi JC (RissiWrites.com) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

    All written content (unless noted) is © Copyright Rissi JC and Finding Wonderland (RissiWrites.com).

    Categories

    ×
    %d bloggers like this: