sun is also a star

‘The Sun is Also a Star’: A Meet Cute Inspires a New Love

September 14, 2019 3 Comments

(Disclosure: this post does contain affiliate links; if you buy anything through these links, I may receive a small percentage of the sale at no extra cost to you. Read the disclosure page for details.)

ABOUT the BOOK
Author: Nicola Yoon
Publication Date: 2016
Publisher: Penguin (Delacorte Press)
Genre: Fiction; YA Contemporary Romance
Source: Bought
FIND the BOOK ELSEWHERE: Amazon | Goodreads
FIND the REVIEW ELSEWHERE: Amazon | Goodreads | WordPress
Rating: ★★★½

The Sun is Also a Star Book Review | by Nicola Yoon


STORY | After his brother messes up his collegian prospects, Daniel’s hard-working immigrant parents push their hopes onto their younger son. Unfortunately for him, he doesn’t want to be a successful doctor. But on the day of his prestigious Harvard interview, Daniel leaves the house planning to make the appointment.

the sun is also a star

Natasha is desperate. An immigrant family from Jamaica, she’s lived in New York for most of her life, but now her family is scheduled for deportation later that day. Without “home,” Natasha doesn’t know who she is. What will she do in Jamaica? Who will her friends be? Her father’s failed dreams lead to this shift in their circumstances, but Natasha isn’t going without trying to find a legal alternative.

When fate intervenes and these two stranger’s lives intersect, Daniel believes that destiny is about to forever change his life.

REVIEW | A couple of years ago, I picked up Everything, Everything, and discovered a pleasantly good story. Inspired to read the former because of the film adaptation, the same can be said of The Sun is Also a Star. Finally, I pulled this brightly colored tome off my shelf, and began to read, with more skepticism than Nicola Yoon’s other novel inspired.

BOOK REVIEW | The Summer I Turned Pretty – To Grow Up in a YA Romance

The reason for this is that the description led me to believe it’d be a story that made a stand with elements I didn’t agree with. The whole universe plot line just didn’t sound a science I’d enjoy. However the more I read of this book, the more I appreciate the way in which this inserts itself into the plot. The interesting thing about this story is that it does rely heavily on fate, destiny, the universe, or whatever you may coin it, but somehow, it works for the story rather than against it.

I’m terrible at describing the ins and outs of why I do or do not enjoy a novel, so it’s difficult for me to say exactly why I don’t mind some of these threads. But I don’t. Taking place over the span of one day, this is fiction in the end, and turns out to be a contemporary romance that is quite charming. The style is unique. The first person POV switch off is primarily between Daniel and Natasha, our main protagonists, but we also experience point-of-views of the people Daniel and Natasha come into contact with over the course of their one day together.

I’d guess readers who liked Everything, Everything will also enjoy ‘Sun.’ It’s a unique novel among its peers and the interconnectedness of the characters might not be a mystery-esque plot twist, but it adds another dimension to the book. The romance isn’t quite as genuine as books with a longer timeline, but it’s still sweet. We believe in Daniel and Natasha because of what they learn about themselves. It’s in these unexpected lessons that they realize what they thought they want, and what is best for them might be where they need to be.

The Sun is Also a Star Book Review: A Meet Cute Inspires a New Love. Talking about the popular YA #romance novel by Nicola Yoon. Have you red this one? Click To Tweet
‘The Sun is Also a Star’ Book Review: A Meet Cute Inspires a New Love. Talking about the popular YA novel by Nicola Yoon. Text © Rissi JC

Content Note: The Sun is Also a Star book contains some sexual innuendo, and a scene of “heavy” kissing. There’s also various uses of profanity including multiples of the F-word.

About Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

All posts

3 Comments

  • Tracy @ Cornerfolds September 14, 2019 at 7:24 PM

    I really enjoyed Everything Everything, but this one just has not appealed to me. I had heard that there were POVs from random characters and I don’t know how much I’d enjoy that. I’m glad you enjoyed it even if it wasn’t a 5 star read!

    • Rissi JC September 22, 2019 at 1:29 PM

      Same! I was excited about this one at first, but the more I read about it, the less interested I became. Still… I did enjoy it, though I likely still prefer Nicola’s debut (and I think this one is the more popular). If you read it, let me know what you think. :)

  • […] BOOK REVIEW | ‘The Sun is Also a Star’: A Meet Cute Inspires a New Love […]

  • Leave a Reply

    (Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

    Bonjour and Welcome!

    Welcome | thank you for visiting and reading. if you like, you are invited to join our conversations and follow along – join us.  You’re most welcome.
    Read more about Finding Wonderland

    ps: please excuse the “disorder.” you can read more about Finding Wonderland’s changes, new follow options and why archive posts are a mess in my “Disorder + Feedback” post!

    Finding Wonderland Elsewhere!

    Finding Wonderland in your Inbox!

    Subscribe! Have Finding Wonderland's new content sent to your inbox; sign up for our once (or twice) monthly round up of new content. If you'd like to have this newsletter sent to your inbox, you can enter your email address here. Please note, this does require a sign-up confirmation via email, and that email may be sent to a junk or spam folder.

    RSS Feed

    Enter your email address:

    Shop our Etsy Store

    Archives

    Disclosures

    Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that if you click on a product link, I may receive (a small) compensation. This compensation comes at no additional cost to you.

    Rissi JC (RissiWrites.com) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

    All written content (unless noted) is © Copyright Rissi JC and Finding Wonderland (RissiWrites.com).

    Categories

    ×
    %d bloggers like this: