Victorian Era

Archive reviews of period dramas set in the Victorian era (1820 – 1901). We’ve complied them on this page for easy access and browsing. Enjoy. See our period drama archives ‘landing page’ for other eras.


An Ideal Husband (1999)
The Buccaneers (BBC Miniseries)

Victorian Era

Cinderella (2015)
The Conspirator
Cowboys and Aliens (2011)
Cranford: Return to Cranford
David Copperfield (2000)
Dickensian (2016)
Doctor Thorne (2016)
Far From the Madding Crowd (2015)
Going Postal (2010 ITV Miniseries)
Great Expectations (2011 ITV television miniseries)
Great Expectations (2012)
Houdini and Doyle, Season One | Episodes 1-4 (2016)

Jane Eyre (2011)
Jane Eyre (2006)
Jericho (ITV)
Lark Rise to Candleford, Series One
The Legend of Tarzan
Little Women (2017, BBC Miniseries)
The Making of a Lady (2013)
Martin Chuzzlewit (1994)
Mercy Street, Season One “Pilot” (2016)
Murdoch Mysteries, Season One
The Mystery of Edwin Drood (2011)
North & South (2004) BBC Miniseries
The Nutcracker and the Four Realms (2018)
OZ: The Great and Powerful
The Paradise: Series One, Episode One
The Paradise, Series One
The Paradise, Series Two
The Prestige
The Ruby in the Smoke

Sally Lockhart: The Ruby in the Smoke
Sally Lockhart: The Shadow in the North
The Secret of Moonacre
The Shadow in the North
Sherlock Holmes (2009)
Sherlock Holmes, A Game of Shadows (2011)
Under the Greenwood Tree*

• = Review published on Silver Petticoat Review (Link will redirect to the site)

* = Coming soon