Without Warning: The Best Kind of Mystery Fiction That Stands Out!

by 

There’s brilliant writing that couples with a kick-butt heroine (plus a Marine hero!) who is as capable of rescuing as she is of being rescued…


Without Warning by Lynette Eason | Book Review


STORY | Katie Singleton’s personal and professional life is wrought with tragedy. But the one constant in her life is her work as a bodyguard at Elite Guardians. Her current client she happens upon quite by accident. Though he’s known for his string of popular gourmet restaurants, Daniel Matthews never expects to be the subject of a stalker. When Katie becomes involved in Daniel’s life after a suspected arsonist sets his restaurant ablaze, and the discovery of a body, Katie assists the former Marine in discovering who is behind this.

REVIEW | To begin this year, one of the best at-the-time books to release was Always Watching, the first novel in this series. Not only is it a wonderful read, it still has a place as a favorite read. To follow up its impressive feat is something of a challenge, but Katie and Daniel’s story does just this, and proves it too is a force to reckon with. There are many surprises and unexpected twists in this novel, both of the nail-biting variety and the diverse nature of the story. As I read Without Warning, the best surprise inside its pages was how fast-paced it is. There’s barely a moment given to Katie or Daniel to breath, and yet, throughout this race for identity, there are still some memorable moments.

BOOK REVIEW | Moving Target – Heart Stopping Romance and a Good Mystery!
Without Warning

In the rare “quiet” conversations between these two, some good building blocks begin to weave together. Their teasing, flirty banter counteracts the more serious nature of the story. In particular, there’s one sweet and swoon-y romantic moment that comes in the latter fourth of the novel. An interesting character angle is also the presence of Daniel’s niece Riley, a character I didn’t expect. Her addition to the story dynamic is wonderful. I love the interplay between her and Daniel; her presence brings out a sweet protective side to Daniel we’d have not otherwise seen.

“…her heart [overflowed] with love for the man who held her, for the God who gave them a beautiful new sunrise each morning, for… life.” – Lynette Eason

An Eason signature is the adrenaline rush that comes with every story she pens, and this one is no different. The pace clips through the story at breakneck speed weaving in and out of the whodunit type questions the prose ponders. Everything comes down to a simple fact. Lynette Eason trademarks the best in smart, “elite” and gripping romantic suspense. Without Warning is a wonderful novel, and is not a story you want to underestimate! There’s brilliant writing that couples with a kick-butt heroine (plus a Marine hero!) who is as capable of rescuing as she is of being rescued (yes there is a difference and no, there is nothing wrong with either scenario).

Fans of authors like Ronie Kendig or Dani Pettery are sure to discover another must read inside the pages of Without Warning. So you’ve been warned: don’t miss it!  

About the Book:

Author: Lynette Eason 

Publisher: Revell | Source: Publisher Provided | Publication Date: 2016

Find the Review elsewhere: Goodreads | WordPress

Find the Book Elsewhere:  Goodreads

Series: Elite Guardians, 2 | Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Romantic Suspense

Rating: 5 out of 5

#BOOKREVIEW | Lynette Eason's 'Without Warning': The Best Kind of Mystery #Fiction That Stands Out! Click To Tweet
Without Warning - The Best Kind of Mystery Fiction That Stands Out! Book review of Lynette Eason's novel; all review text © Rissi JC

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of this book for reviewing purposes. Review text is © Copyright 2011-2019 Rissi JC and first appeared on RissiWrites.com

About Rissi JC

amateur graphic designer. confirmed bookaholic. bubbl’r enthusiast. critical thinker. miswesterner. social media coordinator. writer.

8 comments

  1. Always Watching was pretty amazing, so I really can't wait to read this continuation. Not only is it stunning, but it sounds like it has everything I love about this genre. Lovely review, Rissi, your writing is beautiful as always but I also love the way you "styled" it. Looks so good!

    1. I really enjoyed Always Watching, Bekah. It had everything I was looking for at the time, and it was one of Lynette's best in my opinion. :)

      Thank you, as always, for the kind works and for the visit. Always glad to see you over here. Enjoy Without Warning whenever you have the chance to read it. :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

Optimized by Optimole