Without Warning

Without Warning – The Best Kind of Mystery Fiction That Stands Out!

August 19, 2016 6 Comments

About the Book:

(Disclosure: this post does contain affiliate links; if you buy anything through these links, I may receive a small percentage of the sale at no extra cost to you. Read the disclosure page for details.)

Author: Lynette Eason 

Publisher: Revell | Source: Publisher Provided | Publication Date: 2016

Find the Review elsewhere: Amazon ǀ Goodreads | WordPress

Find the Book Elsewhere:  Amazon ǀ Goodreads

Series: Elite Guardians, 2 | Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Romantic Suspense

Rating: 5 out of 5

There’s brilliant writing that couples with a kick-butt heroine (plus a Marine hero!) who is as capable of rescuing as she is of being rescued…

Without Warning by Lynette Eason | Book Review


STORY | Katie Singleton’s personal and professional life is wrought with tragedy. But the one constant in her life is her work as a bodyguard at Elite Guardians. Her current client she happens upon quite by accident. Though he’s known for his string of popular gourmet restaurants, Daniel Matthews never expects to be the subject of a stalker. When Katie becomes involved in Daniel’s life after a suspected arsonist sets his restaurant ablaze, and the discovery of a body, Katie assists the former Marine in discovering who is behind this.

REVIEW | To begin this year, one of the best at-the-time books to release was Always Watching, the first novel in this series. Not only is it a wonderful read, it still has a place as a favorite read. To follow up its impressive feat is something of a challenge, but Katie and Daniel’s story does just this, and proves it too is a force to reckon with. There are many surprises and unexpected twists in this novel, both of the nail-biting variety and the diverse nature of the story. As I read Without Warning, the best surprise inside its pages was how fast-paced it is. There’s barely a moment given to Katie or Daniel to breath, and yet, throughout this race for identity, there are still some memorable moments.

BOOK REVIEW | Moving Target – Heart Stopping Romance and a Good Mystery!
Without Warning

In the rare “quiet” conversations between these two, some good building blocks begin to weave together. Their teasing, flirty banter counteracts the more serious nature of the story. In particular, there’s one sweet and swoon-y romantic moment that comes in the latter fourth of the novel. An interesting character angle is also the presence of Daniel’s niece Riley, a character I didn’t expect. Her addition to the story dynamic is wonderful. I love the interplay between her and Daniel; her presence brings out a sweet protective side to Daniel we’d have not otherwise seen.

“…her heart [overflowed] with love for the man who held her, for the God who gave them a beautiful new sunrise each morning, for… life.” – Lynette Eason

An Eason signature is the adrenaline rush that comes with every story she pens, and this one is no different. The pace clips through the story at breakneck speed weaving in and out of the whodunit type questions the prose ponders. Everything comes down to a simple fact. Lynette Eason trademarks the best in smart, “elite” and gripping romantic suspense. Without Warning is a wonderful novel, and is not a story you want to underestimate! There’s brilliant writing that couples with a kick-butt heroine (plus a Marine hero!) who is as capable of rescuing as she is of being rescued (yes there is a difference and no, there is nothing wrong with either scenario).

Fans of authors like Ronie Kendig or Dani Pettery are sure to discover another must read inside the pages of Without Warning. So you’ve been warned: don’t miss it!  

#BOOKREVIEW | Lynette Eason's 'Without Warning' – The Best Kind of Mystery #Fiction That Stands Out! Click To Tweet
Without Warning - The Best Kind of Mystery Fiction That Stands Out! Book review of Lynette Eason's novel; all review text © Rissi JC

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of this book for reviewing purposes. Review text is © Copyright 2011-2019 Rissi JC and first appeared on Finding Wonderland (Dreaming Under the Same Moon), RissiWrites.com

About Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

All posts

6 Comments

  • Bekah M. August 26, 2016 at 4:05 am

    Always Watching was pretty amazing, so I really can't wait to read this continuation. Not only is it stunning, but it sounds like it has everything I love about this genre. Lovely review, Rissi, your writing is beautiful as always but I also love the way you "styled" it. Looks so good!

    • Rissi August 30, 2016 at 4:31 am

      I really enjoyed Always Watching, Bekah. It had everything I was looking for at the time, and it was one of Lynette's best in my opinion. :)

      Thank you, as always, for the kind works and for the visit. Always glad to see you over here. Enjoy Without Warning whenever you have the chance to read it. :)

  • Tressa S August 29, 2016 at 3:38 am

    I seriously need to catch up on this series since it sounds like my thing and you obviously love it. Thanks for the review!

    • Rissi August 30, 2016 at 4:32 am

      I do love it, Tressa. ;) It's such a fabulous series and so interesting to see females in the "lead" kick-butt kind of role. Enjoy!

  • […] BOOK REVIEW | Without Warning by Lynette Eason – The Best Kind of Mystery Fiction That Stands Out! […]

  • […] BOOK REVIEW | Without Warning by Lynette Eason – The Best Kind of Mystery Fiction That Stands Out! […]

  • Leave a Reply

    (Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

    Bonjour and Welcome!

    Welcome | thank you for visiting and reading. if you like, you are invited to join our conversations and follow along – join us.  You’re most welcome.
    Read more about Finding Wonderland

    ps: please excuse the “disorder.” you can read more about Finding Wonderland’s changes, new follow options and why archive posts are a mess in my “Disorder + Feedback” post!

    Finding Wonderland Elsewhere!

    Finding Wonderland in your Inbox!

    Subscribe! Have Finding Wonderland's new content sent to your inbox; sign up for our once (or twice) monthly round up of new content. If you'd like to have this newsletter sent to your inbox, you can enter your email address here. Please note, this does require a sign-up confirmation via email, and that email may be sent to a junk or spam folder.

    RSS Feed

    Enter your email address:

    Shop our Etsy Store

    Archives

    Disclosures

    Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that if you click on a product link, I may receive (a small) compensation. This compensation comes at no additional cost to you.

    Rissi JC (RissiWrites.com) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

    All written content (unless noted) is © Copyright Rissi JC and Finding Wonderland (RissiWrites.com).

    Categories

    ×
    %d bloggers like this: