‘Her One and Only’: Fall Head Over Heels in a Good Romance

June 3, 2016 11 Comments

Sometimes a wrapping can be deceiving, either for the good or bad. Other times it matches perfectly with the story we are about to step inside. Becky Wade’s novels fall into this ideal with class, grace and romcom bliss. Becky reemerged in the fiction game some five or six years back with the debut My Stubborn Heart, a story about a broken hockey player and the woman who helps him change. Then came the Porter’s, a family comprised of three elder brothers and their young, wild child of a sister Dru. Finally, we return to small-town Holley, Texas and meet the woman Dru grew up to be.   

BOOK REVIEW | Meant to Be Mine by Becky Wade – A Romance with a Swoony Hero and a Sassy Heroine
her one and only

THE STORY: Following a wild series of mistakes, Dru Porter is finally “home”; in more ways than one. After letting her brothers pick her up from the mistakes, she joined for a tour with the Marines, and is now back in Holley where she works as a protection agent.

Her latest client is Gray Fowler. An NFL superstar, Gray is dealing with a crazed stalker, but keeping his relationship with the beautiful and fierce Dru isn’t easy. As the two of them work together to identify the stalker, threats escalate. It’ll take Dru breaking the one rule she promised herself she never would, and Gray breaking out of his protective shell before either of them can open their hearts to new possibilities.  

Her One and Only by Becky Wade | Book Review 

As is the norm with a Becky Wade novel, the signature style she gives each of her stories is in beautiful form. Her One and Only sparkles with witty charm and emotionally charged acts of forgiveness, love and healing. Because Dru wasn’t front and center in comparison to her three older brothers, she was one of the most interesting characters. We only saw glimpses of her in the earlier books of the series and it made her story one most keenly anticipated. Reading about her journey (even in the aftermath rather than the present) is a rewarding experience like none other, especially considering it’s this that closes out the beautiful series that has been this family saga.  

“That’s what love does. Love rescues.” – Her One and Only

As usual, the story has a healthy dose of spark-infused banter between its protagonists. Dru is the rule keeper in this scenario while Gray is the devil-may-care football star who isn’t used to someone telling him “no.” Their opposing personalities and vision of the “rules” in their relationship makes for a fun read and experience. Some of the quips cause spontaneous laughter while some remind us of the power real, lasting love (based on more than chemistry) has. Gray is one of those men who must shift his lifestyle to better benefit not the person he’s come to love, but himself (as well as for the sake of another) because he’s otherwise unable to live a good life. Dru is a redeemed, beautiful soul wise to the world, but not jaded by it because she blames no one (outside herself) or nothing for the choices that led her to this place.  

These books are written to be standalone if need be, but if you’ve not read a novel by Becky Wade, I’d recommend the first,Undeniably Yours. It’s well worth it, plus will make the story arc (in this) between Meg and Bo all the more meaningful. The tease of a suspenseful mystery is also masterfully written.

Fans of authors like Melissa Tagg or Susan May Warren simply must read the novels Becky Wade pens. They’re insightful, humorous and unafraid to tackle some of life’s messier challenges. Her One and Only is no different. The only drawback is having to await to discover what Becky will next enchant readers with. ♥

'Her One and Only' by Becky Wade: Fall Head Over Heels in a Good #Romance Click To Tweet

ABOUT THE BOOK

(Disclosure: this post does contain affiliate links; if you buy anything through these links, I may receive a small percentage of the sale at no extra cost to you. Thank you to anyone who makes a purchase through these links. Read the disclosure page for details.)

Author: Becky Wade
Publisher: Bethany House
Source: Publisher Provided
Publication Date: 2016
Find the Review Elsewhere: Amazon ǀ Goodreads
Find the Book Elsewhere: Amazon ǀ Goodreads
Series: Porter Family – book 4
Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Romance, Mystery
Rating: ★★★★★

Sincere thanks to Bethany House and Becky Wade for a complimentary copy of this novel for reviewing purposes.

About Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

All posts

11 Comments

  • Bekah M. June 4, 2016 at 2:28 AM

    "Becky Wade’s novels fall into this ideal with class, grace and romcom bliss." YES!! I knew you'd write a perfect review for this one, Rissi! And your graphic is amazing, as usual. I seriously loved this one…thinking of reading the series again soon (which I rarely do). Thumbs up to another fabulous review!!

    • Rissi June 6, 2016 at 3:08 AM

      This series deserves ALL THE REREADS, Bekah. It's so amazing. I'd like to revisit this series and Becky's BH debut as well. All were lovely. Thank you, again, for the kind words! I SO appreciate YOU being a Finding Wonderland reader and for all the comments. Always great to chat with you. :)

  • alyssa zech June 4, 2016 at 3:09 AM

    AND NOW WE HAVE TO WAIT! Excellent review, Rissi. You have such a wonderful way with words. And I'm so glad you enjoyed this one as much as I did!

    • Rissi June 6, 2016 at 3:10 AM

      I most certainly did enjoy this one, Alyssa – and am with you: oh, the agony of awaiting Becky's next series! It sounds amazing though, and I've zero doubt it will be as good if not better than the Porter family series. :)

  • Kara August 1, 2016 at 3:07 PM

    Yes! This one is such a swoony and sweet story. (like my alliteration? ;) Dru and Gray were just so perfect for each other. They really were!

    • Rissi August 2, 2016 at 11:20 PM

      Your alliteration is spot on, friend. This one is precisely as you summed it up. I adore Dru and Gray as individuals and a couple. How long do we have to wait for more from Becky!? ;)

  • […] you Know her From: Her One and Only, by Becky […]

  • […] spending four blissful days together this is exactly what Ty proposes.  BOOK REVIEW | Her One and Only by Becky Wade – Fall Head Over Heels for This Romance But the morning after their impromptu wedding is nothing like a fairy tale, the result leaves […]

  • […] Her One and Only, Becky […]

  • […] BOOK REVIEW | ‘Her One and Only’: Fall Head Over Heels in a Good Romance […]

  • […] BOOK REVIEW | ‘Her One and Only’: Fall Head Over Heels in a Good Romance […]

  • Leave a Reply

    (Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

    Bonjour and Welcome!

    Welcome | thank you for visiting and reading. if you like, you are invited to join our conversations and follow along – join us.  You’re most welcome.
    Read more about Finding Wonderland

    ps: please excuse the “disorder.” you can read more about Finding Wonderland’s changes, new follow options and why archive posts are a mess in my “Disorder + Feedback” post!

    Finding Wonderland Elsewhere!

    Finding Wonderland in your Inbox!

    Subscribe! Have Finding Wonderland's new content sent to your inbox; sign up for our once (or twice) monthly round up of new content. If you'd like to have this newsletter sent to your inbox, you can enter your email address here. Please note, this does require a sign-up confirmation via email, and that email may be sent to a junk or spam folder.

    RSS Feed

    Enter your email address:

    Shop our Etsy Store

    Archives

    Disclosures

    Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that if you click on a product link, I may receive (a small) compensation. This compensation comes at no additional cost to you.

    Rissi JC (RissiWrites.com) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

    All written content (unless noted) is © Copyright Rissi JC and Finding Wonderland (RissiWrites.com).

    Categories

    ×
    %d bloggers like this: