New Novels for the First Half of 2020 to Enjoy, Part One

by 

It’s a New Year (Roaring 20s here we come…!) and like anything that’s “new,” with it comes the arrival of new possibilities as can only be imagined in a little thing we all love: STORY! In this New Year 2020, there will be plenty of imaginative adventures to go on, which is why we’re showcasing a few of the anticipated novels of 2020, part one!

TV NEWS | Midseason TV Preview: A Look at What’s New and to Return

In this “part one” list, we come books releasing from January – June, with a “part two” to this specific list coming to the booktube channel on Thursday. After that, of course come June or thereabouts, I’ll share a list of latter half 2020 reads to anticipate. But that’s for a later date.

Below, you’ll see a variety of styles, genres and armchair adventures. At least I think so. Now it’s time to present…


ANTICIPATED NOVELS OF 2020, Part One | JANUARY – JUNE


1: A GIRL’S GUIDE TO THE OUTBACK, By Jessica Kate (January)

The sophomore novel by a 2019 debut author, this contemporary romcom sounds like so much fun. Plus, anyone who follows Jessica’s Instagram (or her StoryNerds podcast) will know she has great taste in romantic-comedies and TV, which can mean only one thing: she’s a grand story-teller. Goodreads

2: OF CURSES AND KISSESS, By Sandhya Menon (February)

I’m not sure if it’s just being a bookworm or if it’s a tiny bit odd that I’m posting this one up. I say this because I still have not read a novel by Sandhya. That said, her books sound delightful and the fact that this is a Beauty and the Beast re-telling (!) set at a boarding school (!!) makes it all the more appealing. Goodreads

3: THE LAND BENEATH US, By Sarah Sundin (February)

Anything Sarah Sundin pens is historical fiction (WWII) brilliance. Alas I have as yet to read the series this third ‘Sunrise at Normandy’ title completes, but I certainly anticipate doing so. Goodreads

anticipated novels of 2020, part one

4: MOMENT OF TRUTH, By Kasie West (March)

Much as I wish this hadn’t been re-titled, I’m still excited to read this one! Goodreads

5: WHAT I LIKE ABOUT YOU, By Marissa Kanter (April)

Know next to nothing about this one but I can say with absolute certainty that it sounds like way too much fun to ignore, plus it’s a contemporary romance in the YA reads genre. (Oh and this online-dating-trope-mistaken-identity novel is cited as ideal for fans of Jenny Han, so…) Goodreads anticipated novels of 2020 part one

6: THE BETROTHED, By Kiera Cass (May)

I mean, you knew this would be on the list, right? Been anticipating this one for SO long. Or at least the idea of it since we didn’t know what Kiera was writing until more recent months. Goodreads

New Novels for the First Half of 2020 to Enjoy, Part One. Talking anticipated novels of 2020, part one! What made YOUR list? #BookNerd #Bookish #2020Reads #TopTenTuesday @BeckyWadeWriter, @DaniPettrey Click To Tweet

7: OF LITERATURE AND LATTES, By Katherine Reay (May)

Anything there’s a new novel by this author, I sit up and take immediate notice. Her 2020 release holds the same bookish power. Goodreads

anticipated novels of 2020, part one

8: STAY WITH ME, By Becky Wade (May)

Seeing Becky has a new novel to release in May makes me thrilled, but even MORE exciting is the fact that this will begin an entirely new series, and a new (for Becky) concept to connect the stories. Goodreads

9: THE CRUSHING DEPTHS, By Dani Pettrey (June)

I mean, anytime there’s a new Dani Pettrey novel I am there. Goodreads


There are plenty more exciting 2020 prospects, both that I don’t know about (because they don’t yet have a publication date and/or announcement, and those I’m overlooking. A couple that I’m curious about that do come to mind is Nicole Deese’s Before I Called You Mine, and Susan May Warren’s The Way of the Brave. Also, in the creating of this list, I take last-minute to the NEXT level. I’ve been changing the books on this list, having to re-make graphics, fix links, etc! Needless to say, I am done…! (But it was still [mostly] fun.)


Linking up with That Artsy Reader Girl January 7: Most Anticipated Book Releases for the First Half of 2020

What is on your ‘most anticipated novels of 2020’ list? Do you plan to read any of these? Have you read any of them? What types of stories do you want to read less or more of this year; and do you hope to read more from your shelf… or stick to new releases? If you have a blog or joined in the Top Ten Tuesday meme, leave your links below. It may take me an entire week, but I’d love to come by and visit your bookish spaces.


Thank you for visiting!

New Novels for the First Half of 2020 to Enjoy, Part One. Talking anticipated novels of 2020, part one! What made YOUR list? Text © Rissi JC

About Rissi JC

amateur graphic designer. confirmed bookaholic. bubbl’r enthusiast. critical thinker. miswesterner. social media coordinator. writer.

49 comments

  1. Great list, Rissi. Some of things are new to me. Thanks for introducing me to these books, I’m off to add them to my To Read list.

  2. A Girl’s Guide to the Outback sounds really good. And Kasie West I hear so many good things about. I hope all these books turn out as good as they sound!

    I was last minute on my post too. Like literally lol. Tuesday totally crept up on me this week!

    1. I’m all about fun and cute rom-coms, so I’m hopeful Jessica Kate’s will be just this. Oh! And yes, Kasie’s are always fun. So much joyful simplistic story-telling, and I love it.

      Ugh, yes! For some reason, this post seemed to give me more trouble than usual. (And chances are, it’s still likely not how I originally planned it. :D) Thanks for the visit, Greg.

    1. So glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t read a novel by Sandhya. I always have the best intentions to do so, but then somehow don’t make time for them (or rather, books that need reviews take my attention). Hopefully we both will chance it in 2020; thanks for the visit, Jess! :)

  3. I surprisingly haven’t heard of any of these but A Girls’ Guide to the Outback looks really cute. I’m gonna have to check out what it’s about. I love me a good rom-com :) Great list, Rissi! I hope you enjoy all of them.

    My TTT post

    1. Doesn’t ‘Guide’ look fun!? I just received a copy in the mail and am eager to discover what it’s all about! Hope you enjoy if you do give it a chance, Dini – and as always, thanks for the visit. :)

  4. I remind myself again to read Kasie West’s 2019 releases before diving in to her 2020 ones. I’m actually interested (and excited) to read The Betrothed. I’m curious what Kiera Cass will bring to the YA table this time.

    1. All of Kasie’s books have been so lovely and entertaining. I hope if you read her 2019 books that you enjoy. SAME! I’m so curious to see what Kiera’s new book will be like, even more so given it’s been SO long since she had a new release. Thanks for the visit!! :)

    1. It’s fun, right? I’ve been seeing the term on social media and as the REAL Roaring 20’s are one of my most favorite historical time periods, I kinda like the term. :) Enjoy ‘Guide’; it sounds SO fun, and as always, thanks for the visit, Kathy.

  5. Hallo, Hallo Rissi,

    I am so happy with myself – I’ve been participating in TTT for 2wks in a row, now! :) Off to a good beginning for 2020! :) I went a bit off topic – focusing on Non-Fiction I haven’t Yet Read rather than the post I’m still composing which is *today’s!* actual topic – so that is saved for a latter date. From your list — I’ve been wanting to dive into Sundin’s Historical series for quite a long while now… I have her on my short-list of INSPY novelists I *need!* to be reading this year…

    Strictly by titles – “Literature and Lattes” grabbed my eye, but finding out Ms Wade is starting a new series really had me @ “hallo”, too! :) I read the synopsis for both and I think these are going to be ending up on my #mustreads for 2020!! Thanks for bringing them to my attention. I have some INSPY Non-Fic on my list in case you’re game?

    Hope you’re having a wonderful start to the New Year, Rissi!!

    1. YAY! Congrats. That’s pretty cool. :)

      Sarah’s books are always amazing. Sadly, I have several of her more recent novels I have as yet to read, but it’s a goal to catch up… someday. :D Love the extra shout-outs for Becky’s and Katherine’s respective 2020 novels. Two of my most favorite authors. :) Thank you so much for the visit, Jorie; and same to you! Hope 2020 has gotten off to a wonderful start for you.

      1. Hallo, Hallo Rissi,

        I wanted to swing back round today as I’ve finally been able to release my own response to this particular week’s TTT topic!! The Most anticipated stories I’ve found I desire to be reading this New Year’s 2020!? I admit, the first half of January was a hard entry to the year — I was truly connected to the world and the events / news surrounding the turning of a new year itself; still feel gutted by the bushfires tbh and my reading life has suffered as much as my blogging life as I just lacked focus this month on both. This particular post I’m sharing today was a heap of joy to be writing and getting to reconnect with the authors who are featured or getting to know them for the first time was a LOT of #randomjoy for me!!

          1. Rissi – you are definitely understanding me right now! I decided today to release a post about what I’ve been doing whilst I haven’t been reading – the first of its kind in seven years! I always take breaks to do other things outside book world (online) and reading; however, this year just hit me a bit harder for whichever reason. I’ve definitely been moonlighting with streaming wicked #awesomesauce tv and finding new inspiration hosting my own bookish chat on the weekends! Its like you said – sometimes we just need a break from stories and then we find our way back inside them.

            I’ve been appreciating your visits recently on my blog as well.

    1. YAY for shared anticipated favorites. Here’s hoping we both enjoy these – and all of our other 2020 releases, in this coming year, Beckie. :) Thanks for the visit.

    1. I’m all about the sweet (*ahem* Kasie West) rom-coms. :) Yes! I have heard of “Tweet Cute.” I started reading it a while back before I had to set it aside to read something with an imminent release date, but I hope to get back to “Tweet Cute” asap. Have you read it? Thanks as always for the visit, Alicia. :)

    1. Doesn’t it!? I’m all about those cute rom-coms, and here’s hoping we both enjoy this new BATB re-telling!! Happy 2020 reading, and thanks so much for the visit, Lindsey; hope you’re doing well.

  6. The Betrothed is one I’m super hesitantly excited for. I loved the original Selection trilogy so much but everything else I’ve read by her has been disappointing. I’m hoping this one is amazing!

  7. I’m definitely up for a new Kiera Cass book! I haven’t read Sarah Sundin in awhile, but I always thought her books were so well-researched.

  8. Of Curses and Kisses sounds good! And so does the Outback one, this is the first I have heard of it, but it sounds adorable! Also I am like, borderline interested in The Betrothed? But I want to see some reviews first, so definitely let me know what you think of it when you read it!

  9. Of Curses and Kisses is on my most-anticipated list as well!! What I Like About You and Of Literature and Lattes both sound good as well; I’ve heard about them, but not much.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

Optimized by Optimole