20+ Titles to Read or Watch to Fill our ‘To All the Boys I’ve Love Before’ Void. Movies to watch if you like 'To all the Boys.' Text © Rissi JC

20+ Titles to Read or Watch to Fill our ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ Void

February 21, 2021 3 Comments

Recently, we moviegoers experienced a sad realization. This would be the reality that Netflix’s trilogy adaptation’s for Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before has come to its conclusion. Sad as this is, good news is, we can re-watch them anytime, and if you haven’t, you can read the novels on which this is based to rediscover these stories in a new way. Plus, there are some (books and) movies to watch if you like To All the Boys that will affect the same feels!

LIST | MORE CLEAN AND WHOLESOME ROMANCE MOVIES, PART 2

These aren’t all necessarily exactly like the nostalgic feels of Lara Jean and Peter’s romance, but still, there’s some good moments in these stories, or at least I think so. Some may be stretching the scope of similar a bit, that said, they still deserve a shout-out. The books are titles I haven’t read yet (save for two), but they sound like titles that might offer the same kind of nostalgia, which I am HERE for.

Since I did create a list back when I finished reading P.S. I Still Love You, I’ll endeavor to share different titles, but as always, no promises. Let’s have a look.


BOOKS TO READ IF YOU LIKE TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE

(Disclosure: this post does contain affiliate links; if you buy anything through these links, I may receive a small percentage of the sale at no extra cost to you. Thank you to anyone who makes a purchase through these links. Read the disclosure page for details.)


1: Alex, Approximately, Jenn Bennett

This is more of a You’ve Got Mail scenario, but it still involves letters of a kind and so it gets a spot. Bookshop.org | Goodreads

2: Rent a Boyfriend, Gloria Cho

Like so many on this list, this title actually says its ideal for those who enjoy ‘To All the Boys,’ likely because of its fake dating trope. Either way, I totally just pre-ordered (paperback) this one. Bookshop.org | Goodreads

3: Dearest Josephine, Caroline George

This one might be stretching the parameters a tiny bit because it’s a time slip novel, but it follows a contemporary girl who finds a box of letters from an author written to his true love. Bookshop.org | Goodreads

4: Kisses and Croissants, Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

Another pick that recommends readers who like ‘Boys’ to try this one! It does sound cute, plus features a heroine in Paris, so… Bookshop.org | Goodreads

5: What I Like About You, Marisa Kanter

Tells the story of a girl who falls in love with her online best friend. Bookshop.org | Goodreads

6: The Upside of Falling, Alex Light

Don’t remember there being any letters in this one, but it does have the cute fake dating trope; and though it’s not the same as Lara Jean’s love story, it is awfully sweet! Bookshop.org | Goodreads

7: The Meet-Cute Project, Rhiannon Richardson

This book sounds all kinds of cute! I’m also pretty sure I have ordered it, but haven’t opened it yet since I plan to in my next book haul video. It’s about a girl who’s friends try to set her up, and like others before it (and further down!), it too suggests ‘Boys’ fans read this one. Bookshop.org | Goodreads

8: Recommended for You, Laura Silverman

Yes, you guessed it, this is another that mentions Jenny Han’s much loved novel. This one has its own merits, I am sure, as it features a bookish heroine. Bookshop.org | Goodreads

9: Dear Adam, Kelsie Stelting

Sounds like a super cute read about two people who don’t get along. Bookshop.org | Goodreads

10: P.S. I Like You, Kasie West

Another note passing rom com that’s charming, as only Kasie West can write it. Bookshop.org | Goodreads

BONUS! Everything, Everything, Nicola Yoon

The two characters in this novel write each other over message (or email?) and it’s pretty dang charming! Bookshop.org | Goodreads


MOVIES TO WATCH IF YOU LIKE TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE

While none of these may have the same kind of warmth or charm of Lana Candor’s Lara Jean, there is still something sweet about them.


1: A Cinderella Story

This one is “old school” teen comedy complete with flip phones, and horrendous fashion. That said, it’s also all kinds of NOSTALGIA for me and so, I cannot discount its adorable. Hilary Duff plays a girl in a romance with a dude who gets her, but she’s never met. Amazon

2: Austenland

Something about this film reminds me of the nostalgia I feel when watching something warm and wonderful. Amazon

3: Everything, Everything

Yes, I already put this one in the book section, but I forgot that it features some form of writing (messaging), and so I had to include it. Amazon

4: Letter Never Sent

Haven’t seen this one, but it’s another in the “clean romance” genre about a man who, years ago, wrote a love letter to his best friend. Only when he finally decides to send it, it ends up in the hands of her boyfriend. Amazon

5: Letters to Juliet

Love this charming little about a woman who discovers a tradition while visiting Italy that involves women writing to Juliet. While there, she discovers a love letter so beautiful that she determines to reply, never realizing what kind of journey this will lead her on. Amazon  

6: The Longest Ride

20+ Titles to Read or Watch to Fill our ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ Void. Movies to watch if you like 'To all the Boys.' © Rissi JC

Based on a Nicholas Sparks novel, after rescuing an elderly man in a car accident, a young couple discovers his extraordinary love story through the letters he wrote. Amazon

7: Monte Carlo

MORE CLEAN AND WHOLESOME ROMANCE MOVIES, PART 2. What makes YOUR list? Talking through 20+ titles in this curated list. Text © Rissi JC

This one is quite different than To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, but it has sweet friendships (not unlike the sisterly bond in ‘Boys’) and even sweet romance. Amazon

8: Music & Lyrics

This one also does not involve letters, but it is about writing romance-y lyrics, and while I’m not a Hugh Grant fan, the movie always give my warm feelings towards it. Amazon

9: Never Been Kissed

Silver Petticoat Update, Edition One

I just really like this one despite the lack of letter writing, but it does have a woman who writes (newspaper) and much like Lara Jean, there’s a grand gesture involved. Amazon

10: The Other End of the Line

This one is a story without love letters (like many on this list), but it has that kind same kind of quality. It’s about a man who ends up forming a connection with a credit card customer service employee, and yes, it’s way sweeter than it sounds. Amazon

11: The Perfect Date

Adding this one to the mix just because it features Noah aka Peter Kavinsky, though the plot differs largely (follows a teen who invests a unique date for the night service), he still plays a pretty cool dude. Find The Perfect Date on Netflix

12: The Prince and Me

20+ Titles to Read or Watch to Fill our ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ Void. Movies to watch if you like 'To all the Boys.' © Rissi JC

Another way without letters, but this one is just so sweet, and for some reason, it does give me nostalgic feels. Amazon

13: Sierra Burgess is a Loser

This is one of those adorable little films, again from Netflix, that made me smile big. The plot is one about an unpopular girl who ends up falling for a boy (through texts, and phone calls) who thinks she’s someone else. Find ‘Sierra Burgess’ on Netflix

14: Sincerely, Yours, Truly

This is another adult romance, meaning the characters are adult, that is 100% clean and while not nearly as nostalgic as our beloved Lara Jean and Peter, it’s still all kinds of charming. It’s about a woman who discovers a box of love letters, and the man who wrote them. Check places like UPtv for encore showings

15: Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants

This one less in common than some of these other titles might, but there are letters, and the themes of friendship make the story feel “warm” and overall, it’s just one of those good movies to enjoy. Amazon

What about you; what books or movies would you liken or pick to put you in mind of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before? Have you read any of these? Or seen any of these movies to watch if you like To All the Boys? Comment all of your thoughts down below. Share all of your thoughts!

PINTEREST PIN


20+ Titles to Read or Watch to Fill our ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ Void. Movies to watch if you like 'To all the Boys.' © Rissi JC
20+ Titles to Read or Watch to Fill our ‘To All the Boys I’ve Love Before’ Void. Movies to watch if you like 'To all the Boys.' #LaraJeanAndPeter #ToAlltheBoys #ToAlltheBoys3 #Movies #Netflix #Books #BookTwitter #BookList Click To Tweet

find us on social media: MeWe; Instagram; or Pinterest – and join Finding Wonderland’s NEW reader group on MeWe!


Thank you for visiting Finding Wonderland

About Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

Rissi JC

amateur photog. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?

All posts

3 Comments

  • […] LIST | 20+ Titles to Read or Watch to Fill our ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ Void […]

  • […] LIST | 20+ Titles to Read or Watch to Fill our ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ Void […]

  • […] LIST | 20+ Titles to Read or Watch to Fill our ‘To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before’ Void […]

  • Leave a Reply

    (Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

    Bonjour and Welcome!

    Welcome | thank you for visiting and reading. if you like, you are invited to join our conversations and follow along – join us.  You’re most welcome.
    Read more about Finding Wonderland

    ps: please excuse the “disorder.” you can read more about Finding Wonderland’s changes, new follow options and why archive posts are a mess in my “Disorder + Feedback” post!

    Finding Wonderland Elsewhere!

    Finding Wonderland in your Inbox!

    Subscribe! Have Finding Wonderland's new content sent to your inbox; sign up for our once (or twice) monthly round up of new content. If you'd like to have this newsletter sent to your inbox, you can enter your email address here. Please note, this does require a sign-up confirmation via email, and that email may be sent to a junk or spam folder.

    RSS Feed

    Enter your email address:

    Shop our Etsy Store

    Archives

    Disclosures

    Some of the links on this blog are affiliate links, which means that if you click on a product link, I may receive (a small) compensation. This compensation comes at no additional cost to you.

    Rissi JC (RissiWrites.com) is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

    All written content (unless noted) is © Copyright Rissi JC and Finding Wonderland (RissiWrites.com).

    Categories

    ×
    %d bloggers like this: